This site uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience. Learn more

Sign up or log in to follow your favorite podcasts and listen to episodes!

What does the Hartlepool by-election mean for Johnson and Starmer?

Stories of our times


On Thursday the 6th May, voters in Hartlepool will elect the first new MP since Boris Johnson and the Conservatives’ landslide victory in 2019. With polling showing the Tories on course to win the seat from Labour - what can we learn about the national picture from this constituency in the North East?

This podcast was brought to you thanks to the support of readers of The Times and The Sunday Times. Subscribe today and get one month free at:

Guests: Patrick Maguire, Red Box editor at The Times.

Mhari Aurora, Red Box reporter at The Times.

Host: Will Roe.

Clips used: ITV & BBC.

Full list of candidates standing in the Hartlepool by-election on Thursday, 6th of May:

David Bettney - Social Democratic Party.

The Incredible Flying Brick - The Official Monster Raving Loony Party.

Hilton Dawson - The North East Party.

Gemma Evans - Women's Equality Party.

Rachel Featherstone - The Green Party. 

Adam Gaines - Independent.

Andrew Hagon - Liberal Democrat.

Steve Jack - Freedom Alliance. No Lockdowns. No Curfews.

Chris Killick - [no description].

Sam Lee - Independent.

Claire Martin - Heritage Party.

Jill Mortimer - Conservative Party. 

John Prescott - Reform UK.

Thelma Walker - Independent.

W. Ralph Ward-Jackson - Independent.

Paul Williams - Labour Party.


See for privacy and opt-out information.

Disclaimer: the content and artwork of this podcast are the property of its owner and are not affiliated with nor endorsed by Audiotrails.